It figures….

Toliet Paper Check, ya soft

Image by Jp Gary via Flickr

As any mother knows, it is impossible to go to the bathroom by yourself once your children are able to crawl.  The only time I have been able to pee by myself in the last 8 years is if it’s in the middle of the night and then I’m scared that I’ll wake one of them up if I breathe too loud.  So what happened the other day has me completely baffled beyond belief.

My husband was using the bathroom when our youngest decided to open the door.  I heard the familiar “What ya doin” come out of his mouth, and then the even more familiar ” Get out of here and shut the door behind you!”  Then something that would never be heard if I was in the bathroom, the door close and little feet in the hallway.

Now I’m confused on why my children will leave my husband alone so he can go to the bathroom by himself, take a shower with no one interrupting, not walk into the bedroom while he is changing clothes, or even let him check his email in peace.  I’ve tried to do all of these and without fail someone in this house will interrupt me, even sometimes my husband.

The only reason I can think of for this differential treatment of Mom and Dad is that mothers have a beacon that goes off in a frequency that only her children and husband can hear to let them know that Mom might possibly be doing something without one of them present.  Now if I could only figure out how to turn mine off so I can manage to take a shower by myself.

Leave a Reply

