Finally, they find evidence that ADHD is genetic

Brainscan of brains with and without ADHD

Image via Wikipedia

Today I finally heard the press release that I have been waiting for my whole life.  A study has finally found that ADHD is genetic.  My Grandmother, Mother, or I could have told the scientists that did this study that was true before they spent millions on it.  I come from a very long line of ADHD people, and I myself have ADHD as do probably at least one of my kids, the jury’s still out on the other two.

Researchers have found that children with ADHD have more large, rare copy-number variants in their genes than children without the disease.  It looks like it will still be years before they can do a genetic test to see if your child is ADHD or just a normal child, if any child is normal, but the initial research has been done already, and I’m sure that someone is already working on how to genetically test for this.  This study is going to be able to get tied into other studies that are proving some diseases to be genetic.  These same variants have already been found to be genetic markers for predisposition to schizophrenia, autism, epilepsy, and other neuro diseases.

Males are more likely to posses these genetic variants than females are.  You would only have to take a look at my Grandfather, Uncle, Brothers, and Son to see that this is true.  I seem to be the only female in the family with ADHD, unless of course one of my girls or my brothers have girls and they end up having the family genes.  The shocking thing is that 1 in every 100 children have this disorder, and yet most parents think of it has a lack of discipline or a problem eating too much junk food.

The best thing about this research, to me at least, is that it proves that it isn’t what you are feeding your children that are making them hyperactive.  There was a study done in England that I saw a few years ago that disproved the theory that sugar makes children hyper.  Unfortunately a lot of parents it seems did not see the study and this rumor is still floating around the mom communities today.  If your child is already predisposed to have ADHD then if they eat a cupcake it isn’t going to make them more hyper

As an adult with ADHD I can give parents some advice on how to raise a child with ADHD so they become productive members of society.  The advice would be this “Invest in a house with a very large yard and a hyper active dog.”  My parents own 10 acres, every day it wasn’t below freezing I had my mother kicking us out of the house to get fresh air.  Now that I have my own ADHD child I know that it wasn’t for our benefit, it was for the benefit of my mothers sanity that she kicked us out.  I’m so glad that my kids like fresh air, and we have an acre yard.  Now I just need the hyper active dog, and I’ll be all set.

One Response

  1. My 7 year old was diagnosed with ADHD about a year ago, and his doctor also said it was genetic. I completely agree. It’s just like depression, and all the other “brain chemical” things. He is taking Focalyn, and it has definitely saved his ass from permanently being black and blue.

Leave a Reply

